Stay Lost, Adventure Bound: Traveling, Hiking, and Where to go Next

Hello world! Thanks for stopping by.

It’s difficult to not begin this like it’s a mission statement, but I’m afraid that is how it’s going to come out. I wanted to start this blog to help other travelers, hikers, and anyone who yearns for adventure, exploration, and new experiences. Hopefully these posts will help anyone out there who is wanting to get the confidence to take that first step and explore the world, whether it’s by showing how to plan the trip, or just what to expect along the way.

I believe one of the most important things a person can do is to travel and gain new experiences that help provide a better understanding to other people’s culture, religion, or way of life.  Especially in this day and age when it seems that there are more misunderstandings happening everyday.

A little about me, though! I’m a 28-year-old resident of Atlanta, Georgia. I’ve lived here most of my life, and am the middle child in a family of 5 boys. Staying true to the middle child stereotypes, I look nothing like my brothers. Where they have brown hair, brown eyes, and dark skin, I have blond hair, blue eyes, and a fair skin. Genetics are a strange thing sometimes.

I began traveling later than most. Having gone most of my life sticking primarily to overnight backpacking trips in the North Georgia mountains and beach visits to Florida in the summertime, there was never much opportunity to travel abroad growing up. After graduating college in the winter of 2011 from Georgia College and State University, a small liberal arts school in Milledgeville, GA, I was seeking something other than just finding a job and joining the workforce. And that’s when it all began.

In April of 2012 I was given the opportunity to work with a non-profit organization in Tanzania, Africa called Make a Difference. Their mission is to provide quality education for orphaned youth in the Kilimanjaro region. Theresa Grant, the founder of MAD, began her journey in 2008 by sponsoring 22 orphaned youth with the opportunity for a quality education with the aim to help the children rise out of poverty and in turn, become leaders in their local communities. For 6 months I lived and worked in Tanzania, and the experience is what kicked off my earning for new experiences and adventure.

After my stent in Tanzania I solo backpacked across Europe for 8 weeks. Starting in Amsterdam I went in a horseshoe pattern around Europe and visited: Berlin, Prague, Vienna, Florence, Rome, Cinque Terre, Nice, Paris, and London. Obviously, I’ll post more about this later, but the experience was incredible.

Since then, I’ve had the opportunity to hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in the summer of 2014 as part of a fundraising climb for Make a Difference, raising over $10,000 dollars to help go towards education. I visited Hong Kong and Vietnam in the summer of 2016, as well, and in the summer of that same year had the unique opportunity to hike the John Muir Trail. The JMT, a 211+ mile trail through the Sierra Nevada Mountains in California, was an absolutely incredible, challenging, and rewarding experience.

That’s just a quick summary of the travels and adventures that I’ve been on so far, but hopefully there will be more to come and I look forward to sharing them here with you in the hopes that they can help inspire others to get outside and explore the world around them.

Thank you for reading, and as always, stay lost and bound for adventure.

Kyle

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

